Christian Body Art

This past weekend was Youth Advance, the lovely early March youth conference at church.  The topic of this year’s conference was “Reborn”, referring to the rebirth that comes through faith in Christ.  Each attendee and staff member received this neat removable tattoo in the shape of the conference logo which is a heart with the words “YA 2011 Reborn” inscribed in the chambers of the heart.  I was intrigued by this idea and it has lead me to research Christian tattoos.  For most of my life I have not been a fan of tattoos just because I didn’t like the idea of having something permanently drawn on your skin.  What happens when you are 65 and your skin gets wrinkly and saggy and the tattoo looks horrible?  What if you got something tattooed on you when you’re young that you regret as a mature adult?  Or if you meet a woman who doesn’t like tattoos???  But a couple of my friends, including my ex-girlfriend, have tattoos that are very aesthetic and discrete and over the last few years I have to admit I’ve sort of become a fan.  After becoming a Christian I didn’t really think that Christians shouldn’t get tattoos because God hates them, rather I saw them as an art form through which Christians can visually display their faith.  A friend of mine was saved in 2008 and shortly after his conversion had a simple black cross tattooed on the back of his forearm just above his wrist.  My ex-girlfriend has a Jesus fish on the side of her right foot and the Latin phrase “Sovereign grace” on the top of her other foot.  I know some people don’t like tattoos because our bodies are a temple of the Holy Spirit and tattoos are mostly meant to represent pagan ideas and values.  But since there is no mention in the Bible about tattoos, I believe we are at liberty to do such to our bodies as glorifies God and not causing us or others to sin.  Especially after Youth Advance, I am more attracted to tattoos than ever before, Christian ones that is.  I have never seriously considered getting one before, but now I am actually toying with the idea.  I have no idea what or where I would get one but I like to search the internet for the best looking ones for ideas.  Here are some of my favorites.

"Jesus Saves" battle-clad Jesus defeating Satan

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

not of this world

"For I bear on my body the marks of Jesus"

gotta love Becks' neck cross

6 thoughts on “Christian Body Art

  1. The Bible says in Leviticus 19:28, “Do not cut your bodies for the dead, and do not mark your skin with tattoos. I am the Lord.” (NLT) How much clearer can that be?

    Isaiah 5:20
    What sorrow for those who say that evil is good and good is evil, that dark is light and light is dark, that bitter is sweet and sweet is bitter.

    • It also says one verse earlier in Lev. 19:27 that you shall not shave your beard…God also said that you aren’t allowed to wear clothes made from two blended fabrics (polyester). The OT laws were given to set Israel apart from the rest of the nations because they were God’s chosen people and they were to be different just as God is different (or holy) from us.

      Galatians 5:1 says, “For freedom Christ has set us free; stand firm therefore, and do not submit again to a yoke of slavery”. Paul is speaking of the preachers who are trying to get the Gentile believers to follow the OT laws as well as faith in Christ. Paul calls this message accursed. It also says in 1 Corinthians 6:12, “All things are lawful for me,” but not all things are helpful. “All things are lawful for me,” but I will not be dominated by anything.” Whatever does not proceed from faith is sin. (Rom. 14:23)

      Christians are no longer under the Old Covenant, but the New Covenant where the only requirement from God is believe in Christ for the forgiveness of your sins and the resurrection of the dead and you will receive life.

      • Your logic seems reasonable but has holes, what does GOD think of it?

        Matthew 22:34-40
        “Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?” Jesus replied: ” ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”

        If you love GOD as described above then there is no need of inking yourself for it. rather Love you fellow human being as yourself. instead of using marketing schemes “your body” use the power of fellowship and love Christ. Sure it is easier to ink yourself and have others look at you and say WOW he has faith, but go up to the person and witness to them and believe me you might be surprised of the comments.

        Wasn’t the Jews expecting a King that would rule and conquer like DAVID?!! isn’t
        the people today expecting a Jesus that will love all and bad and good, lesbian and gay, whatever…. what I’m trying to say here is that we want a Jesus under our rational and we don’t want to follow Jesus under his rational… it doesn’t fit…. it to Hard and Old… so let make Jesus follow our rational…

        Jesus made it very simple… Be Holy because I’m Holy. If Jesus has not put a burden on your spirit then you need to pray to him a little before we and you make dumb mistakes…

  2. Here’s what Paul has to say about the “laws” that everyone always uses.

    Philippians 3:5-11

    I was circumcised when I was eight days old. I am a pure-blooded citizen of Israel and a member of the tribe of Benjamin—a real Hebrew if there ever was one! I was a member of the Pharisees, who demand the strictest obedience to the Jewish law. 6 I was so zealous that I harshly persecuted the church. And as for righteousness, I obeyed the law without fault.

    7 I once thought these things were valuable, but now I consider them worthless because of what Christ has done. 8 Yes, everything else is worthless when compared with the infinite value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have discarded everything else, counting it all as garbage, so that I could gain Christ 9 and become one with him. I no longer count on my own righteousness through obeying the law; rather, I become righteous through faith in Christ.[c] For God’s way of making us right with himself depends on faith. 10 I want to know Christ and experience the mighty power that raised him from the dead. I want to suffer with him, sharing in his death, 11 so that one way or another I will experience the resurrection from the dead!

  3. For some people it might not be as easy to go up to someone and witness to them, but if someone has nice ink then that might spark up a conversation. Ive had people tell me thaat they’ve been blessed by seeing my tattoos of scripture. Or they might think Wow, you believe this so much that your willing to sit through repeated needles for it. Boom conversation, tell them about Jesus. Everyone has there reasons. “Whatever does not proceed from faith is sin.” (Rom. 14:23) If you getting tattoos to exalt Jesus then go for it. Different culture, different perspectives. One love. No judgement or condemnation.

Leave a Reply

