STOP sinning

I’ve had like a billion people ask me since yesterday what I’m giving up for Lent this year.  These people know I’m a Christian and they assume that because I am Christian that we all give up something for Lent.  I don’t think I’ve ever done that before in my life so I didn’t plan on starting this year.  It is largely a Catholic tradition of honoring the fact that Jesus died so that we would be freed from our sins so in response, faithful Catholics willingly give up a part of their own lives to acknowledge what Jesus gave up on our behalf.  I am not Catholic, and while I do respect the tradition of Lent, when done with a pure motive and true heart, I find no need to make any sacrifices above and beyond the daily sacrifice of worship that my life is supposed to be.  However, I think that I’ve come up with a pretty witty response for the next time if someone asks me what I’m giving up for Lent.  I’m going to tell them that I’m giving up sinning.  I want to see the look on someone’s face when they hear that!  But then I thought about it for a minute and it hit me that I’m just an idiot.  I’m supposed to be giving up sin everyday of my life!  Regardless of what month it is Christ died for my sins and I’ve been freed from them and live for a new Master.  How can I go back to the filth I used to lay in when I’ve tasted of the goodness of the Lord Jesus Christ?  Dying daily is our call as Christians and living holy like Jesus is holy should be our aim at all times.

So this year for Lent I am going to give up sinning.  Not by my own power, but by the power of God the Holy Spirit.  Not because it is the month before Easter, but because Jesus Christ died for my sins and gave me His righteousness and my killing of sin is the right response for the unspeakable amount of love He showed me on the cross.  By God’s grace poured out through Jesus Christ I will stop sinning each and every day for the rest of my life.  I know there will be plenty of times when I fail and fall short of God’s standard of holiness but that’s why Jesus came to Earth in the first place.  Jesus lived the life I should have lived and died the death I should have died.  He now is my perfect righteousness before the throne of God in heaven.  It is my joy to mortify my flesh each and every day in praise and thankfulness of the awesome work God has done for me!

2 thoughts on “STOP sinning

  1. I’m not catholic either and I never really practed giving up lent. Your absolutely right tho. And when we do fail tho, we need to remember that Christ already settled our debt so God sees as if we never failed!!!

    How awesome is that!

    • Totally awesome! Sometimes it feels like my sin has regained mastery over me for a moment but my debt was totally cancelled toward God and I belong totally and fully to my new Master Jesus!

Leave a Reply

