Christ’s Preeminence

Quick one today!  I’m reading in Colossians now and was impacted by verses 1:15-18 when Paul is describing Christ’s superiority over all things.

He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation.  For by Him all things were created that are in heaven and that are on earth, visible and invisible, wheter thrones or dominions or principalities or powers.  All things were created through Him and for Him.  And He is before all things, and in Him all things consits.  And He is the head of the body, the church, who is the beginning, the firstborn from the dead, that in all things He may have the preeminence.

–Colossians 1:15-18

This passage reminds me of how small and insignificant we are compared to the glory and superiority of Jesus Christ.We are finite, He is infinte.  We are the created, He is the Creator.  We are all like grasshoppers to him who created the universe but yet He loved us enough to die on a cross for our sins!  What a Savior!  I love this passage and it really puts my humanity into place and really humbles me everytime I read it.  Praise God that our lives are not what it’s all about!  If my life were not subject to a higher authority I’d be completely lost.  Since Christ is king over all the earth, He is king over me and it is my joy to be His subject!  “For a day in Your courts is better is than a thousand.  I would rather be a dorrkeeper in the house of my God than dwell in the tents of the wicked” –Psalm 84:10.

One thought on “Christ’s Preeminence

Leave a Reply

